Top Five English Catholic Places

Having been tagged by Joee Blogs, I will attempt to list my top five English Catholic places. It has been a couple of years since my last trip over the Pond, and I wasn’t Catholic–though on my way–at the time, so this is going to be difficult:

1. Westminster Cathedral – Attended daily Mass there, and the reverence, artwork, and relics were a big help to me as I was considering my future conversion. A photo I took back summer of 2004:

Westminster Cathedral, London

2. Canterbury Cathedral – Yes, it’s Anglican, I know, but there are just enough vestiges to give you a pretty good idea of what a vibrant thing Medieval English Catholicism was. And, enough scars to give you a very good idea about what a travesty King Henry VIII’s libido was. Some photos from 2004:

Idolatrous stained glass…must be shot out…Tower, Canterbury Cathedral, UK

3. Tyburn – Haven’t been there, but the place where many martyrs’ blood was spilled deserves to be on the list.

4. Clifton Cathedral – Not on the list for a good reason, but as a reminder of what NOT to do architecturally and aesthetically. Walked past it a hundred times whilst a student in Bristol. Never walked inside. Couldn’t bring myself to.

Clifton Cathedral, Bristol, UK

5. Iona – Yeah, it’s Scottish. But, from it came missionaries that helped re-Christianize post-Roman Britain. And it’s the most peaceful place I’ve ever visited. So what if they didn’t end up on the winning end of things at the Synod of Whitby? Photo from a trip back in spring of ’99:
Ruins on Iona

4 Responses to “Top Five English Catholic Places”


  1. 1 Joee Blogs May 19, 2007 at 6:26 am

    Gosh I’ve never heard of Clifton Cathedral, it looks awful! Westminster is rather handy I agree. Some nice photos of Canterbury Cathedral, may I ask whether you got permission to take photos there as I’d rather like to take some pics but not too sure whether one needs to ask permission.

    Although I’m on rather good terms with one of the womenpriests there so maybe I can ask her for permission!!!

  2. 2 Edmund C. May 19, 2007 at 9:00 am

    If I recall correctly, you can purchase a photo pass at Canterbury Cathedral. I grumbled about having to pay extra money on top of the admission charge, but it was worth it. There are a lot more photos where those came from…

  3. 3 Joee Blogs May 19, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    A photo pass?! Oh dear – it really is just a money guzzling museum. Apparently if you say you’re a pilgrim you don’t have to pay – although I did try this tentatively and was told the price of 5 pounds 50 pence was what I would have to pay. However it is free to go in for services so if you happen to be touristing and there’s evensong on for instance, then it’s free. If you’re pilgrimming and it’s not at the time of a service you seem to have to pay.

    More photos from whence they came?

  4. 4 Dean Moriarty August 4, 2016 at 3:32 pm

    Can I use your picture of Iona for a project I’m working on?

    Have a good day!


Leave a comment