Irony and earnestness

Go read Patrick over at Orthonormal Basis – he’s written something that, had I had such introspective abilities, would fit me as well. We Catholics in an intellectual environment are constantly tempted to lace everything with irony–to temper by subtle humor our very real beliefs. Sometimes that’s OK, particularly if it diffuses a very hostile situation, but most of the time, it ends up leaving you feeling rather empty. Like Patrick, I’m earnest to a fault by nature, but my public persona can be one of wry humor. I’m inspired by his honesty to attempt to change that.

3 Responses to “Irony and earnestness”


  1. 1 Patrick (orthonormal) June 22, 2006 at 8:25 pm

    Ed, thanks for the high praise. And I think you take it in a very important direction- I’ve also noticed the use of irony as an escape from being “pinned down” on our beliefs. I mean, it’s frustrating that others take our open admissions of faith as the opportunity to categorize and dismiss us. But it’s not worth it to stay in a dance of impenetrable cleverness without any true object- a competition rather than a conversation.

  2. 3 Chad June 24, 2006 at 1:04 pm

    Nice! I’ll add it to my roll…


Leave a comment