My Southern twang is a virtue. Hers, on the other hand…

is a cynical ploy to get votes.

I’m really, really, really tired of politicians sucking up to the African-American community. Yes, this sounds racist, but it’s merely observing reality. Just last year, we had a district attorney get re-elected up this way by maliciously prosecuting three white kids who were stupid enough to hire a drug-addled, minority stripper. Yes, he resigned. Yes, he’s probably going to be disbarred. But, he got re-elected. I’ll let you readers come to your own conclusions about why that might have been the case.

Hillary isn’t stupid. In fact, her IQ is probably that of Joe Biden and Dennis Kucinich put together. At least what she’s doing isn’t illegal, unlike Mike Nifong. But those of us with real Southern accents know that she’s faking it, and that’s deplorable.

6 Responses to “<em>My</em> Southern twang is a virtue. Hers, on the other hand…”


  1. 1 Argent April 28, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    I beg your pardon? It is not a twang. It’s a lilt. Twang is what Texans have. *runs for cover*

  2. 2 Edmund C. April 28, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    One man’s lilt is another man’s twang?

    And I hear that there are classes for getting rid of it… I have no idea why; it’s a huge advantage since Yankees always underestimate you 😉

  3. 3 Argent April 29, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    Oooh, visions of Eliza Doolittle…the rain in Spain…..

    Speaking of classes to get rid of the accent, how about the obverse? What did you think of Nicole Kidman’s accent in “Cold Mountain”?

  4. 4 Edmund C. April 30, 2007 at 9:51 am

    I am wracking my brain if I’ve ever heard a good accent from a non-Southerner. Sadly, the best I can think of is Tom Hanks in “Forrest Gump.” Nicole Kidman, if I recall correctly, was awful.

    Reminds me of my parents’ pastor, who is from Pennsylvania yet insists upon using “y’all” at every opportunity. It comes out as somewhere between “yoll” and “yuall”. I know our English is more sophisticated because we distinguish between the second person plural and singular, but still…

  5. 5 Argent May 2, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    ROFL…there is nothing more embarrassing than listening to a Northerner try to say “y’all” with any credibility.

  6. 6 cminor May 5, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    I always thought Jasmine Guy managed to pull off a pretty good Richmond accent in the sitcom A Different World–and that’s no easy matter. I grew up within a three-hour drive of the place and I still couldn’t invite somebody up to the “hohse” if I tried.


Leave a Reply

