The diminution of common sense

So much has been said about the Virginia Tech tragedy that I don’t feel the need to add my two cents. But, I will point you to the single best commentary I’ve yet seen on it. Peggy Noonan is one of the wisest people on the planet.

2 Responses to “The diminution of common sense”


  1. 1 Argent April 21, 2007 at 9:33 am

    It’s sobering what she said, “With all the therapy in our great therapized nation, with all our devotion to emotions and feelings, one senses we are becoming a colder culture, and a colder country.”

    So what would happen if someone in the media actually used the word “evil”? I’ve not watched any of the news reports. Do you remember anyone saying that?

  2. 2 Edmund C. April 21, 2007 at 9:36 am

    I haven’t watched much either, but I don’t think I’ve heard that word. I kinda doubt it, because “evil” is such an objective word in such a subjective world…


Leave a Reply

