Reality check

Today’s tragedy at Virginia Tech completely threw me for a loop. I could hardly work for checking the latest updates from Blacksburg. It’s a bit too close for comfort; I live near and study on a university campus not too far away from there. Instead of the engineering building at Virginia Tech, it could have been the laboratories where I work. Such senseless violence can happen anywhere.

What we need to do is offer up prayers for the many deceased, those who are in the hospital fighting for their lives, and their friends and family. Please stop trying to make political statements from something that defies logic and legislation; stop, for now, attempting to figure out what cultural forces may have led the deranged young shooter to do such terrible deeds; mourn.

And remember the words of our Lord from the 13th chapter of St. Luke’s gospel:

There were some present at that very time who told him of the Galileans whose blood Pilate had mingled with their sacrifices. And he answered them, “Do you think that these Galileans were worse sinners than all the other Galileans, because they suffered thus? I tell you, No; but unless you repent you will all likewise perish. Or those eighteen upon whom the tower in Silo’am fell and killed them, do you think that they were worse offenders than all the others who dwelt in Jerusalem? I tell you, No; but unless you repent you will all likewise perish.”

1 Response to “Reality check”


  1. 1 Bekah April 17, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    My sister and brother-in-law are alumni. I would have been had my step-mother not stollen my acceptance packet (but that’s beside the point). I’m praying and mourning for all those involved as well.


Leave a Reply

