Something happened on the way…

I discovered that Luke Rivington’s classic work on the early Church and the Papacy (1894) has been scanned into the Web Archive–so, while eating lunch, I decided to browse it a bit. The introduction by the then Archbishop of Westminster, Herbert Cardinal Vaughan, blew me away. So, I cut and pasted the first page and a quarter for discussion:

vaughan1.jpg

vaughan2.jpg

vaughan3.jpg

The clarity and simplicity of Cardinal Vaughan’s words stand in stark contrast to a lot of what we hear today from our clergy when asked about conversion and the truth of our Faith. I wish I understood why.

(HT: Fr. Kimel)

0 Responses to “Something happened on the way…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

