Scientific research is addictive

Sorry for the random post, unrelated to much of anything else on this blog, but I’m euphoric over here….

I often ask myself why exactly I do what I do. I toil away for months wondering why exactly I decided that scientific research was the career for me. Nothing works; data is uniformly negative; cell cultures die; reagents go bad. Then, like a ray of sunlight after weeks of overcast skies, that one experiment works, and works beautifully.

The cellular world is charged with the grandeur of God, my friends.

I feel like dancing. And if you know me personally, you’ll know that, well, dancing is not my strong suit.

2 Responses to “Scientific research is addictive”


  1. 1 Douglas Coombs January 13, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    EC,

    I hope you will forgive my presumptuous post on Brant Hansen’s blog on whether rejecting the successors to the apostles is one way to reject the body of Christ in its multifaceted definitions. Brant has correctly noted that he asked the question of you and I presumed to speak for “Catholics”, which may not be the case. I tend to presume too much on the unity of Catholics. Even given that unity, my statement of the case may have been off (and likely was in several respects). From the content of your blog, I can confidently say that I expect any disagreements to result in me stepping back to adjust my own point of view. I heartedly welcome any critique you may have of my post… if you aren’t too busy formulating a response to the Holy Spirit challenge in the same thread.
    http://branthansen.typepad.com/letters_from_kamp_krusty/2007/01/its_called_beau.html

    Doug

  2. 2 Edmund C. January 13, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    Hey Doug, I sent you an email…


Leave a Reply

