Where I Am, Lord

I’d almost forgotten that I had started composing a new parody, so after a long delay, I give you:

Refrain:

Will you meet me
Where I am, Lord?
What I feel, Lord, must always be right.
I won’t go, Lord,
You can’t lead me,
All your people follow their own hearts.

Why, O Lord? I don’t know why,
It just makes me want to cry,
All this talk of mortal sin.
Won’t you still save?

refrain

I have tossed and turned all night.
There isn’t any darkness, right?
Won’t all live forevermore
In your embrace?

refrain

Look at all those hearts of stone!
They want me to come on home,
Why won’t they leave me alone?
I am OK!

refrain

(feel free to add more verses…)

4 Responses to “Where I Am, Lord”


  1. 1 FranciscanGypsy December 29, 2006 at 4:25 pm

    Wow. That’s sad… but it definitely seems to be some people’s point of view.

  2. 2 Edmund C. December 29, 2006 at 4:28 pm

    Yeah, I suppose it is a bit darker than my usual… I’ve spent way too much time in a very liberal area of the country.

  3. 3 Bekah December 29, 2006 at 5:01 pm

    I suppose it would be wrong to send this to my priest. {sigh}

  4. 4 Edmund C. December 29, 2006 at 5:07 pm

    No, probably not wise 😉


Leave a Reply

